RSS Feed

A twist on a steakhouse salad.

I like a good steakhouse salad. A plate full of crisp greens, piled high with tomatoes, cucumbers, red onions, blue cheese and strips of juicy steak. All doused with a tangy vinaigrette.

While I really like the flavors of that salad, I don’t usually have steak on hand. I’m just not a big steak eater.  I wanted to do a salad with all those wonderful flavors, without the steak, but just as filling. So, naturally I thought of barley. Ha! Then I thought, why not use steak sauce in the dressing to get that steak flavor? And I did. And it turned out fabulous!

Yum

Steak-house Style Barley Salad

  • 1 c barley, cooked and cooled
  • 1 pint cherry tomatoes, chopped
  • 1/2 English cucumber, chopped
  • 1/2 red onion, diced
  • 1-2 oz blue cheese, crumbled

Toss together all ingredients in a large bowl with half of Steak Sauce Vinaigrette.

 

Steak Sauce Vinaigrette

  • 2 1/2 Tbsp steak sauce
  • 2 1/2 Tbsp malt vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp cider vinegar
  • 1/3 c olive oil
  • 1 tsp freshly ground pepper
  • 1 clove garlic, minced. Mash into a paste with a pinch of salt

Put all ingredients in a jar and shake well. Store leftover dressing in refrigerator.

Notes: I only used the veggies I had on hand, but I wrote the recipe with more in mind. Also, depending on the blue cheese you use, it could end up overpowering the salad. Start with a little, and add if you want more. A big handful of arugula with be lovely.

Leave a Reply

