RSS Feed

Bean-Squash soup for a cold day

Here it is, as promised. A week late. Sorry.

I finally got some free time from work and schoolwork. I made up this bean soup last weekend just because I wanted bean soup…with a twist. I had seen (so many of my recipes start out this way, don’t they?) a tortellini soup with a squash broth and about died. I wanted it so bad. Then I made bean soup.  And put squash in it.

I don’t know. Don’t ask.

Anyway, this soup turned out lovely. Next time, I will add more squash puree. I only put a cup in and it only gave the slightest hint of squash flavor. I want to taste squash, darn-it. Feel free to put in more or less to your liking. If you don’t like squash, this is a fine bean soup on it’s own.

Perfect for a winter night.

Bean-Squash soup

  • 1 1/2 c dried Navy beans, soaked overnight
  • 2 pieces bacon, diced
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1 carrot, grated
  • 1 celery stalk, finely diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 4 c chicken broth (may substitute water)
  • 1-2 c squash puree
  • 2 tsp marjoram
  • salt to taste

In a heavy pot, saute diced bacon until cooked, but not crisp. Add onion, carrot, celery and garlic to bacon and fat. Cook until vegetables are soft. Add broth, beans and marjoram. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer until beans are soft, 1 1/2-2 hours. Add squash puree and heat through. Salt to taste. If you prefer a thicker soup, smash the beans a bit with a potato masher, or puree a bit in a blender.

Notes: Your beans may take longer to cook. The time given is how long mine took. Add whatever herbs you prefer. I like the between-parsley-and-oregano flavor of marjoram. Try crumbling some garlic-herb croutons on top of each serving. Quite tasty.

Leave a Reply

