RSS Feed

Lazy Day ( a short post)

I’m feeling lazy. I have the day off from work, but not from life. I have schoolwork I have to finish. I really need to wash dishes. I made myself get up and go to the grocery. And now it’s just past 6 pm. I’m not really hungry, but I know if I don’t make something and eat, I will be super crabby when I wake up.

What to make?

I have a package of thawed hamburger in the refrigerator.

How about a tamale pie?

Garlic makes it better, no?

Tamale pie is one of those fun retro casseroles that won’t go away. For good reason.It may not be very glamorous, but it sure is tasty, especially on a chilly winter night. And it’s pretty quick and easy. If you want, scale back on the beef and put a layer of black beans in. Add some chiles. Experiment with Mexican cheeses. Or serve with shredded lettuce, a dollop or sour cream and some slices of avocado. Pass the hot sauce!

Masa topping

Tamale Pie

  • 1 lb hamburger
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 Tbsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 c salsa
  • 1 c shredded cheese
  • 1 1/4 c masa harina
  • 1/2 c creamed corn
  • 1/3 c water
  • 1/3 c milk
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • pinch of salt

Brown hamburger in a medium skillet, over medium heat. Drain excess fat. Add onions and garlic, cook until onions are translucent. add spices and salsa, stir to thoroughly combine. Simmer about 5 minutes.

In a medium bowl, mix together masa harina, water, milk, creamed corn, baking powder, and salt to form a spreadable dough.

Pour hamburger mixture into a 8″ x 8″ casserole. Sprinkle cheese over hamburger. Top with masa dough, spreading over cheese with a spatula.

Bake at 375° for 25-30 minutes until masa is golden. (* it may be a bit saucy) Let cool about 5 minutes before cutting in.

Comfort food.

Now that dinner is done, I think I’ll make a mug of tea and curl up with my new book. Enjoy!

One response »

  1. I know the feeling! So much to do and so little motivation. ha! 🙂 This looks delicious! I will definitely be making this. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

