RSS Feed

Cranberry goodness.Thankgiving recipes. After the fact.

Yes. I procrastinate. What I could be doing now, I put off for later. I blame work. And school. And laziness. I wanted to post some Thanksgiving recipes I found. Before Thanksgiving. I’m just so lucky I got to make anything for Thanksgiving. Thankful, even. I made an amazing roasted turkey breast with maple glaze, apple-onion dressing, and these fab cranberry dishes. Of course, I had mashed potatoes. Don’t be silly.

I really need to share that turkey recipe. You’d die.

Looking back on last week, I realize I need to post something, anything, before my few followers abandon ship, and thought, these recipes can be used for Christmas as well.  The two I want to share, Cranberry Pie and Cranberry-Jalapeno Relish, compliment a variety of dishes. Any roasted fowl can be served up with cranberry relish. It’s awesome on chicken, turkey or pork sandwiches. The cranberry pie is just good. Tis the season for cranberries. They’re not just for Thanksgiving anymore.

Ever since a Navy captain’s wife gave me a jar of her homemade jalapeno-cranberry jam, I’ve been searching high and low for something like it. I loved it that much. On turkey sandwiches. On crusty bread spread with cream or goat cheese. It really was that good. It had the right amount of sweet, tart and spice. Every fall, I resume my search for any such concoction. Every year, I fail. Except this year. I think I found what I’ve been looking for. And it comes from, of all places, Hawai’i…where I received the first jar that began this madness. Maybe it’s the Islands that make the stuff amazing? I highly recommend trying this if you like cranberry. Unfortunately, I didn’t think to take any pictures until after I made it.

Auntie Louise’s Cranberry Jalapeno Relish

Tasty goodness in a jar.

Adapted from recipe courtesy of Gen Furukawa, (from lickmyspoon.com)

Serves: 10-12

Ingredients:

  • 24 oz fresh cranberries (two bags)
  • ½ cup fresh lime juice (about 3 limes, plus zest)
  • ½ cup water
  • 2 tablespoons shallots, finely chopped
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 bunch cilantro, chopped
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 1 tablespoon chopped garlic
  • 2 ½ cups sugar

Preparation:

1. Pulse the cranberries in a food processor until coarsely chopped. Be careful not to over process because you don’t want the berries pureed.
2. Add all the ingredients, except the cilantro, to a medium pot with a heavy bottom. Simmer, uncovered, for about 20 minutes, until thickened. Mix in the cilantro. Cool before serving.

Note: I omitted the cilantro. It wasn’t in the original jam I had.

The second cranberry recipe I want to share comes courtesy of the Pioneer Woman. Last year, she posted a recipe for Nantucket Cranberry Pie. It wasn’t really a pie; it was more like a cobbler. But at the time, I had a bag of cranberries needing used, and I gave this recipe a shot. Um, yum! It was just something I made on a whim that I ended up absolutely loving.

Nantucket Cranberry Pie

from The Pioneer Woman (at tastykitchen.com), *Adapted from a recipe by Laurie Colwin*

  • Butter, For Greasing
  • 2 cups (heaping) Cranberries
  • ¾ cups Pecans, Chopped (measure, Then Chop)
  • ⅔ cups Sugar
  • 1 cup Flour
  • 1 cup Sugar
  • 1 stick Unsalted Butter, melted
  • 2 whole Eggs, Lightly Beaten
  • 1 teaspoon Pure Almond Extract
  • ¼ teaspoons Salt
  • 1 Tablespoon Sugar For Sprinkling

Preparation Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Generously butter a cake pan or pie pan. Add cranberries to the bottom of the pan. Sprinkle on chopped pecans, then sprinkle on 2/3 cup sugar.

Gorgeous cranberries & nuts

In a mixing bowl, combine flour, 1 cup sugar, melted butter, eggs, almond extract, and salt. Stir gently to combine.

Pour batter slowly over the top in large “ribbons” in order to evenly cover the surface. Spread gently if necessary.

I dare you not to lick this batter

 

Bake for 45 to 50 minutes. 5 minutes before removing from oven, sprinkle surface with 1 tablespoon sugar for a little extra crunch.

Crunchy, sugary top

One response »

  1. Pretty nice post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I have truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing on your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

