RSS Feed

A trio of quick breads on a blustery day.

It’s quite a cold, windy day here. When the weather gets life this, I feel like hearty cooking or baking. I’ve been talking about making banana bread for days now, so I just decided to finally do it. Then I opened my Joy of Cooking (my go-to banana bread recipe). Immediately following the banana bread was pumpkin bread. Yes, please. I think I’ve already professed my love of all things pumpkin (except pie. I don’t know). If you haven’t heard, I love all things pumpkin, sweet or savory. And it’s good for you. Bonus! But then, I spy yet another recipe calling my name. Quick beer bread. Hmmm. Okey, why not.

Pumpkin muffins!

Just for fun, I made pumpkin muffins. And I made the banana bread with apple bananas. They didn’t change the taste of the bread much. Too bad. Eaten out of the peel, they have a tropical fruit salad sort of taste. Apple bananas are hard to come by. I get mine at an international grocery in Cincinnati.

Over-ripe apple bananas. Perfect for bread

Now, I whipped up the sweet quick bread. And they are good. But I think everybody has a favorite recipe for banana or pumpkin breads. It’s the beer bread that intrigued me. It’s sosimple. It’s hearty. What better bread for serving along side a soup or stew this time of year? And it’s quicker than the aforementioned sweet breads. Less than an hour from gathering ingredients to hot, fresh baked bread.

Beer bread, with friends

 Quick Beer Bread

from the Joy of Cooking

  • 1 c whole wheat flour
  • 1 c all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 c old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 2 Tbsp sugar (I used honey. I ran out of sugar)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 c beer (except stout), cold or room temperature, but not flat

Whisk together dry ingredients. Fold in beer until the dry ingredients are just moistened. Scrape the batter into a greased loaf pan and spread evenly. Bake at 400° until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, 35 to 40 minutes. Let cool in the pan on a rack for 5 to 10 minutes before unmolding  to cool completely on the rack.

This bread lasts 2 to 3 days (they say)

Give this one a try. Your busy self will thank me.

Leave a Reply

