RSS Feed

Welcome, Autumn…and soup.

My first day of fall is actually the second day of fall, according to the calender. But I have this day off from work, so I actually get to enjoy it. Too bad the day started out poorly. I had to take my kitty to the vet. She’ll be fine, but it made me worry a bit. She’s coming up on 14 years old. I’ve been with her a long time. I really am one of those tat gets real attached to my animals. Heck, sometime I find myself talking to them like people. Yep, crazy cat lady.

So, on this first day of (my) fall, I started to pit now thawed sour cherries. I had a couple old bags in the freezer. I’m hoping to make some jam. I say hoping because I’m not sure how it’s taste with the cherries being frozen as long as they have *coughcough3yearscough. Cross your fingers and wish me luck. I’ll let y’all know…

After my hands began to cramp from the pitter (and only half the cherries done), I moved on to soup. I had a quart bag of some turkey my friend Gina smoked a while back. I wanted soup. But I didn’t know what to make. Every soup recipe I read included carrots and celery, neither of which I have. I did have some chiles quickly moving past their prime. Also, some onions and frozen corn. Aha! Tortilla soup! Except, I don’t have corn tortillas, and, honestly, didn’t feel like making them just for soup. This is how I came to develop a recipe for a smoked turkey and roasted chile soup. And since it turned out amazing, I decided to share. Unfortunately, I didn’t think to take any picture of it. Hopefully, I can add some in later…

Smoked Turkey-Roasted Chile soup

serves 6-8

  • 2 Tbsp vegetable oil
  • 4 c corn
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • salt, to taste
  • 2 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 Tbsp cumin
  • 1 14oz can diced tomatoes
  • 4 c smoked, shredded turkey (if you can’t find smoked turkey, feel free to substitute regular or shredded chicken)
  • 2 poblanos, 2 Anaheims, 1 jalapeno (feel free to substitute to taste)
  • 4 c chicken stock

Preheat broiler. Place chiles on heavy baking sheet and roast until skin begins to char. Put charred chiles in a bowl and cover. When chiles are cool enough to handle, remove skin and seed, and chop roughly. Mince jalapeno. I would recommend wearing gloves when handling hot chiles.

While chiles are roasting, heat oil in soup pot over medium-high heat. Add corn and cook until it just begins to brown, about 10-12 minutes. Add onion and garlic and cook until onions are soft, about 5 minutes. Add remaining ingredients and bring to a boil. Turn heat down to a simmer and cook about 30 minutes.

Serve with strips of crisped corn tortillas, diced avocado and lime wedges.

Note: using the chiles I did makes this soup about as spicy as an average medium salsa. If you like it milder, use a mix of Anaheims and bells.

This will freeze well. Make a big batch and enjoy all winter long.

Leave a Reply

