RSS Feed

Chicken & tortillas

It’s been far too long since I posted anything. Sometimes I get in a (long) mood of not wanting to do anything cooking related. Last week, I finally got off my bum and did something…in a slow-cooker. I made chicken. Not a chicken dish, just cooked chicken. Now, I did this for a reason. I get so discouraged when I want something with chicken but find I only have rock hard frozen chicken breasts. So I thought I’d do something different and cook up a bunch of chicken all at once, portion it out into recipe sizes and then freeze. Zip top bags of cooked chicken thaw in the time I’m at work. I take one out in the morning before I leave, and by the time I get home it’s ready to throw into any thing I make.

Cooking chicken in a slowcooker is about the easiest thing even. So much that I didn’t really use a recipe. Here’s the basics:

  • 4 chicken breasts (I used boneless skinless)
  • seasonings of choice (I lightly salted and sprinkled marjoram. I love marjoram.)
  • about 1/4 cup water

Toss everything in the slow-cooker and cook on low until cooked and shred-able, about 6-8 hours. Depends on the size of the chicken breasts. When done, let them cool for a bit until you can handle them, then shred. I find shredded chicken more adaptable to more recipes than chopped. When the chicken is completely cool, fill freezer bags with 1 – 2 cup portions (depending on your favorite chicken recipes), label and freeze. That’s it.

Shredded chicken

 

 

 

Since I had a hankering for tacos, I left a little aside for supper. But I had no tortillas. All was not lost because I still have some masa flour in the cupboard. Yep, I make my own corn tortillas. It really is quite simple. All it takes is masa flour, water and muscle. I bought my masa flour at the local grocery, not a specialty store. You don’t even need a tortilla press or a comal (Mexican griddle). It only takes a few minute to make, especially if you’re only making a few.

Corn masa flour

 

The recipe (from the back of the Maseca bag):

  • 1 c masa flour
  • 2/3 c water
  • 1/8 tsp salt

Mix together ingredients to for a soft dough. If it’s too dry, add a bit more water. Divide dough into 8 equal balls. Using a tortilla press (I use a heavy sauce pan), flatten the balls flat between plastic until 5-6 inches in diameter. Cook on an ungreased, preheated griddle ( I happen to have a griddle pan, but have used a nonstick skillet) over medium-high heat for about 50 seconds per side.

Masa before saucepan

 

 

Masa after saucepan

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After all that (not) hard work, I seasoned my leftover chicken with a bit of my favorite tacoseasoning (Not store bought. I’ll have to share that another time.), piled it on a couple tortillas, and added my favorite toppings. I have to say, these things tasted great. I didn’t slave in a hot kitchen all day and was still rewarded with good food. Kinda what my site is all about.

Chicken tacos

4 responses »

  1. Maseca is wonderful! you can leave them patty sized and make a little border around them to create sopes, basically just spread refried beans on top then add the chicken and some salsa… yuuuuum!

    Reply
    • I love sopes. I used to get them all the time at a little hole-in-the-wall Mexican joint in Washington (state). For some reason, none of the places around my little Ohio town have them. So I had to learn to make my own.

      Reply
  2. This is way cool! Thank you for this post. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

