RSS Feed

A nice spring slaw

This post is a long time coming. I actually made this slaw several weeks ago, but I think it’s more fitting now, as the weather here in Ohio reached the upper 70s today. When the weather gets warm, I like to find lighter dishes that don’t require a lot of cooking. This Asian-inspired slaw fits the bill perfectly. There is no cooking.

This recipe came from so many different sources that I forgot where I got them all. I scoured my cookbooks and the internet to find just the right blend of ingredients I liked to make my own version.

Asian Slaw

The ingredients

  • 4 c shredded Napa cabbage
  • 2 lrg carrots, shredded
  • 4 scallions, sliced
  • 1/4 c rice or cider vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp oil (I used olive)
  • 2 Tbsp soy sauce (I used shoyu)
  • 1 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 Tbsp grated ginger
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 1/4 c cilantro (optional)

Put first 3 ingredients in a large bowl. In a separate bowl, whisk together remaining ingredients (except cilantro). Pour dressing over vegetables and toss to combine. Add in cilantro (for those who like it).

Asian inspired slaw

Sliced red bell peppers and snow peas  would be a great addition to this. Also, add shredded rotisserie chicken to make a meal.  Serve along side stir fries, Asian-style burgers or any Asian food.This actually keeps well for a couple of days in the refrigerator.

Ooh! Would this be great along side Kalua pork, or Huli Huli chicken? Maybe some Philippine chicken adobo?

Leave a Reply

