RSS Feed

The beginning of strawberry season…

It’s Easter Sunday, and I thought I should probably post something since it’s been over a week. I spent the weekend out of town with my BF’s fam, so I didn’t get to cook anything. However, Friday I managed to can a small batch of strawberry-vanilla jam. I had only 2 pints of berries, so this was more of experimentation more than anything. I’ve never really put up jam, other than a half-hearted attempt at marmalade earlier this year.

Strawberries are just starting to come into season around here. I have many plans involving these lovely berries, jams, syrups and leather, just to name a few. I tell ya, I cannot wait until the local U-pick farm opens in a couple weeks. In the meantime, I thought I’d share my first jam success story.Beautiful jars

I originally found a recipe for this jam on Foodinjars.com, but her version called for liquid pectin, which I did not have. I went on a search for other strawberry jam recipes that called for powdered pectin. Obviously, there are plenty of those, but the recipe I kept going back to was from Put ‘Em Up by Sherri Brooks Vinton. I ended up making a mash-up of the two.

Strawberry-Vanilla JamMacerating berries

adapted from foodinjars.com and put ’em up

4 c strawberries, hulled and chopped

2 c sugar

2 Tbsp bottled lemon juice

1 vanilla bean, split and scraped

Toss strawberries, sugar and broken up vanilla bean in a large bowl to macerate overnight. (Mine sat for 2 days in the refrigerator)

Transfer the mixture to a large non-reactive sauce pan. Be sure to pick out the vanilla bean pieces. Bring the berries to a boil, crushing and stirring to release more juice. How small you crush them  depends on your taste. Stir in the lemon juice. Continue to cook, stirring frequently, until the jam reached desired thickness, about 20 minutes. Remove from heat and let rest for 5 minutes. Skim off any foam.Boiling berries

To can, ladle into 1/2 pint jars, leaving 1/4″ headspace.  Process in a boiling water bath for 10 minutes.

* this recipe made 7 1/2 pint jars.

Awaiting jars

One response »

  1. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog. 😉 Island life can definitely bring island fever sometimes. I enjoy a good plate lunch too. 😉

    I love strawberry jam and this looks delicious–especially with the vanilla too.

    Aloha,

    Deb

    Reply

Leave a Reply

