RSS Feed

Dreary day baking.

Traverse Bay dried cherries

I woke up this morning to a wonderful thunderstorm. I love thunderstorms. I actually find them peaceful. I relish a rainy day when I can curl up on the couch with a cup of something hot (coffee or tea), a good book, and my kitties. Today, however, was not one of those days. Today, I started Spring quarter and that means Algebra. I loathe Algebra. I spent a good chunk of my day trying to understand the first of two chapters I have to know this week. At one point, I had to take a break and do something I actually enjoy. Looking around the cupboards I found I am short so many ingredients for  anything I wanted, but I did have these: Traverse Bay Fruit Co. dried cherries. And I did have everything on hand for scones, yummy breakfast biscuits. Searching the internet for a decent recipe, I came across a dried cherry oatmeal biscuit (scone) recipe by Martha Stewart. Perfect! Almost equal parts flour and oatmeal goes into these which makes them sort of like a sophisticated oatmeal raisin cookie. My addition of all almond extract made them divine. I love cherry and almond together. (I love a lot of things today, don’t I?) The original recipe called for equal parts vanilla and almond extract, and also buttermilk; I only had 2%. Despite my “tweaks”, they came out great.

While they were baking, I brewed up a pot off coffee and waited. I barely allowed them to cool before diving in. What’s better than baked goods right out of the oven?

These things are hearty, so they will make a great grab-n-go breakfast treat. I would recommend putting them in the microwave for about 10-15 seconds; no butter or jam needed.

Oatmeal and Dried Cherry Biscuit Scones

from Martha Stewart. Makes 8 scones

Afternoon coffee break

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour plus more for work surface
  • 1 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter cut into small pieces and chilled
  • 1/2 cup dried cherries
  • 1 large egg beaten
  • 1/4 cup buttermilk plus more for brushing
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure almond extract
  • Fine sanding sugar for sprinkling

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper; set aside.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, oats, granulated sugar, baking powder, and salt. Using a pastry cutter or your fingers, cut butter into oat mixture until the mixture resembles a coarse meal; whisk in dried cherries. In another medium bowl, mix together egg, buttermilk, and vanilla and almond extracts until well combined. Add egg mixture to flour mixture; mix until well combined.
  3. Turn out dough onto a lightly floured work surface; roll out to 1-inch-thick 8-by-6-inch rectangle. Cut biscuits into eight 2-by-3-inch rectangles using a sharp knife; transfer biscuits to prepared baking sheet. Brush biscuits with buttermilk and sprinkle with sanding sugar.
  4. Transfer biscuits to oven and bake until tops are lightly browned, 18 to 20 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack and let cool slightly before serving.
Leave a Reply

