RSS Feed

In Need of Comfort

The beginning

I have been sick the last few days. I usually don’t eat much when I’m sick, but I just had a craving for some comfort food. I’ve been seeing a lot of recipes for Salisbury steak lately, and I’ve been wanting to give it a go. Salisbury steak isn’t something I really grew up on, unless you count the occasional Swanson’s.

Most recipes I came across called for either fresh mushrooms (which I did not have), or condensed onion soup (which I also did not have). So, I had to improvise.  I came up with a concoction that ended up tasting delicious. Nicely seasoned beef patties simmered in thick, brown onion gravy….Mmmm. I couldn’t even tell I used whole wheat flour for the gravy. Hey, it was all I had.

So, here is my first attempt at Salisbury steak, which I served over mashed potatoes.

Comfort on a plate

Salisbury Steak

1 lb ground beef

1/4 c cracker or bread crumbs

1/2 t mustard powder

1/2 t garlic powder

1 t beef bouillon

1 med. onion, thinly sliced

salt & pepper to taste

2 T Olive oil

1 egg, lightly beaten

2 T Worcestershire sauce

1 T ketchup

3 T flour, divided

Mix together beef, crumbs, egg, mustard powder, garlic powder, 1 T Worcestershire sauce, salt and pepper. Form into 4 oval patties. Dredge patties in 2 T flour, seasoned with salt and pepper. In a large skillet,brown patties in olive oil over med-high heat (do not cook through). Set aside. Add 1 T flour to skillet; stir to combine. Add 3/4 c water; whisk thoroughly. Stir in ketchup, remaining 1 T Worcestershire sauce, bouillon. Add onion. Bring to a boil. Add patties and simmer 15 – 20 minutes until cooked through. If sauce gets too thick, add more water 1 T at a time. Serve over mashed potatoes or egg noodles.

Leave a Reply

