RSS Feed

First day of cooking/baking

Well, today I started my first day of cooking and baking just for this blog. But, being that it’s Monday, and I have the day off from work, I would be cooking anyway. You see, I love cooking on Mondays. There’s something slightly old-fashioned about it. Traditionally, Monday was washday, and homemakers¬† would have a big pot of something going on the stove. That big pot would simmer all day while the homemaker would go about her wash. Now, I don’t have the luxury of being able to wash on Mondays, as I have no washer in my little apartment. So, I cook instead.

I began the day by just wanting to bake some bread. Quickly, it morphed into two loaves of whole wheat bread, a loaf of orange-yogurt pound cake with marmalade glaze, and a jar of orange curd. I tweaked a recipe from Epicurious.com for the yogurt loaf. It came out lovely and tastes like a creamcicle with a tart bite. The curd recipe came from FoodinJars.com, but changed it from Meyer lemon to orange. The curd is divine! It is so rich, but I could just eat it with a spoon. I have plans to stir it into my favorite Greek yogurt, Fage. The bread? Well, the jury is still out on those. Keep you posted….

Leave a Reply

